Ethical Inquisition

For discussion of all things 7Seas, user-to-user support, and fish or salvage trade requests. Any registered user can start new threads here and reply.

Ethical Inquisition

Postby Clint Silvercloud » 11 Mar 2009, 15:37

Hello, my name is Clint Silvercloud. I am a relatively new resident within Second Life.

I have (what is probably) an ethical question which may or may not have a precident or a mentioning within a pre-existing text file or notecard which I am interested in the opinion on or awnser to. I understand by making this post that there is very likely no definitave awnser and that each player or server varies; If there is in fact no general rule in place. I am currently developing some concepts and in game items, as would any other player, and would prefer to take the 7Seas community opinion into consideration for my own personal ethical reasons BEFORE taking any actions conceptually or otherwise. With that said, I will hesitantly ask my question...

Is there a rule or regulation which accepts or denies distribution of items, based on popular belief or precident, which have been otained from 7Seas official or custom prize givers? I ask this because I am considering dedicating a respectable amount of time and lndens on prize and server area development.

Having asked what sounds to be a dificult question, it truly isn't. Basically, Who, when, where, and how (if the information exists) can or is it acceptable to distrubute fished up loot. Do you want people to give you things away? Are they transferrable, and if so why? With what restrictions is distribution considered to be reasonable or not? Do you need to know the person personally? And if not... How many people that you don't know is above the limit? I am reasonably certain there are no awnsers to this(these) question(s) that can be accepted by a group of people as varies as Second Life players are. However, I am very interested in what any responses may be.